Maynooth Post Primary School


Maynooth Post Primary School is a co-educational multi-denominational school with non-selective entry getting the large majority of its students from the primary schools in its catchment area. It opened in 1971 as a vocational school in the grounds of the Presentation convent and moved to the Moyglare Road in 1972 under the auspices of County Kildare Vocational Educational Committee; now Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board.

Vocational schools were established in accordance with the Vocational Education Act of 1930, as amended by the Vocational Education (Amendment) Act 2001. From July 1st 2013 Co Kildare VEC amalgamated with Co Wicklow VEC and are now under the name of Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board (KWETB).

KWETB employs the staff of the school and allocates an annual budget to operate the school. KWETB operates through a Chief Executive from its offices at Áras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Limerick Road, Naas, Co. Kildare. The day-to-day management of the school is the responsibility of the Principal. Originally, Vocational Schools were oriented towards a technical education but now they provide a wide range of both academic and practical subjects.

An initial extension was opened in 1983 and a further enlargement took place in 1996 with an Assembly Hall included, which was financed by the efforts of the parents and staff. A third significant extension was completed in 2007 to include a purpose-built Information Technology facility, a full-size Gymnasium, general purpose classrooms, offices, a guidance room and tiered seating lecture room. In 1971 there were 110 on the roll and in September 2023 this had grown to 1008.

In 2021 the school relocated to its present location at Mariavilla as part of Maynooth Education Campus incorporating MPP, MCC and Gael Scoil Ruairi.

In 1971 there were 110 on the roll and in September 2013 this had grown to 1206. In its earlier year’s students came from as far away as: Palmerstown, Co. Dublin; Dunboyne, Co. Meath; Leixlip and Celbridge but ‘new’ schools in these areas has meant that the student population in 2009 is nearly exclusively drawn from the locality within a seven-mile radius. The main feeder primary schools are the Maynooth, Kilcloon, Mulhussey, Straffan and Rathcoffey National Schools.

Our student numbers have steadily increased from 656 in 1992 to approx 1008 in 2023.

Maynooth Education Campus, Mariavilla, Maynooth, Co. Kildare, W23 X6X8
01 628 6060
© 2024 Maynooth Post Primary School